Sumburgh Head Progress
Published: 01 May 2013
been carried out by Shetland Amenity Trust stonemasons. The new offices for RSPB staff are almost complete, with staff expected to move in very shortly.
First stage electrical and plumbing work on the Education Centre, which is the only new build element of the £5.4million project, is almost finished and the large and impressive curved windows will be installed soon. New artist's impressions released by Groves Raines Architects this week show how the finished building will highlight the stunning views from the Head.
Members of the Dunrossness Community Council visited the site during March and were enthusiastic about the progress to date. Another visit is planned for later in the year.
The development of interpretive materials and research for displays is also progressing. The role of Sumburgh Head during World War 2 is one story being told in the visitor centre. Matt Arnold, Interpretation and Lifelong Learning Officer with Shetland Amenity Trust, has been researching this time. Records of eight keepers who worked and lived at Sumburgh Head between 1939 and 1945 have been traced, and Matt is currently searching for further information on Lawrence Anderson, Robert Eunson and William Skinner. If anyone has information on these men or their families, they can get in touch with Matt at firstname.lastname@example.org or call (01595) 694688.